Time is of the Essence

Time is such an important thing in life. I’d like to think of time as a gift; and it is our job to decide how we use that gift. Time management is such an important skill to learn in college that will really benefit you in the real world. Freshman year is the hardest time for this. No parents to tell you, “You can’t go play outside until after your homework is done!”, is a freedom a lot of people have never experienced. With so much going on your freshman year-joining clubs, getting involved, making new friends, an unreal amount of homework, sometimes a job-it is very easy to get overwhelmed. A few pointers that I have learned to help are as follows:

1. Learn how to say no. A lot of times, your friends just always want to be doing something, even homework. For me, it is difficult to get homework done with other people around. I had to learn to tell my friends I couldn’t hang out until my homework was finished.

2. Eliminate distractions. I love technology, but it is such a distraction. You can try to text and do homework at the same time, but I promise you, you can get done ten times faster if you just turn your phone off!

3. Use a planner. I hate writing things down. But I’ve noticed that when I wake up and make a to do list, it really helps me to plan my day better according to what I have to get done.

There are a lot of tools to help manage your time better, and I hope these few can help you out in your first year of college, and any year thereafter! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

