Stagnant Faith

Around November/December of last year, I specifically remember praying for something radical to happen in my life. I felt very stagnant in my faith and I specifically remember saying “even if it’s something hard, give me something. Because I don’t want to be stagnant.”

Since then has been a roller coaster of negativity trying to bring me down! I’ve had a very intense emotional battle that resulted in friendships being broken, people getting hurt, and a very helpless Kelli. I knew God was going to use this time of pain and suffering for His glory, but there were plenty of times when I was trying to figure out where He was. Why He was letting me be in pain. Every day was a battle, and I felt defeated at the end of every day. Through this difficult time, I was blessed with family and friends who always encouraged me with their words and actions and never once gave up on me-even when I pushed them away.

This has been an ongoing battle since the beginning of the semester, and just this past week God has put all of the pieces together for me. I was asked to be on leadership at a christian camp this summer(the same one that I worked for last summer) on Tuesday. Camp was not even on my radar this summer, but God has made it very evident that this is where I belong for the next three months. Also this week, I got news that I will be co-director for my schools annual revival next year! Getting this position is such an honor, and I was completely shocked. I applied because I knew it was something I wanted to do, but in no way shape or form did I think I would actually get it. I did not feel qualified at all, but again, God has made it very evident this is apart of His plan. 

This leadership position at camp is going to be coaching other counselors, so that they may witness to the thousands of kids that are going to be coming to Carolina Creek Christian Camp this summer. A stagnant Christian can’t lead other Christians-or else we will all end up as stagnant as the next. Same with revival. A Christian leader has to have passion, and a fire for Christ, because it’s contagious. God knew that I needed a dire situation that was just gonna shake me to my core and set me on fire in order to lead fellow Christians. 

I’m writing this completely overwhelmed by what God is doing in my life right now. I’m nervous, and a little afraid of all this responsibility He’s put on my plate, but I also know He’s not finished with me yet. He’s still going to mold me and teach me, and give me situations that make me feel helpless in order to fully rely on Him. 

My departure date for camp is May 11th-so soon! Please pray for this transition and my role at camp this summer. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stagnant Faith

  1. Suzy says:

    Dear Kelli,
    Wow, what a year you have had. Praise the Lord that through it all you may have been stagnate but you were open to what God has in store for you. I have discovered in my life that it is when I (emphasis “I”) am at my perceived worst is where God had to take me so that I would pay attention and follow His lead. Sometimes when everything seems the best and couldn’t get any better is when we listen to God the least. I am so happy for the direction God is giving you and for your obedience to follow. It is always good to reach out of our comfort zones and trust the Lord for support and guidance in all we do. I have faith and confidence that all you do will bring nothing but glory to God. You Go For It Woman!
    Love you and praying for you.
    Suzy

Leave a Reply

