Start a Revival in Me

This year I have had the privilege of being able to Co-Director my university’s revival on campus. I am currently halfway through the process, and my, what a journey it has been already! This leadership position is nothing like I have ever experienced before. My personality is naturally drawn to positions of leadership, but this is stretching me and growing me where I never knew I needed growth. Many new challenges, opportunities for growth, and plenty of ways for my faith to be shaken.

Often times, I find myself throwing around this word: Revival. “Headed to a Revival meeting! I need to make some phone calls for Revival. Have you heard about Revival? Are you going to be there?!” This word has become such a ‘normal’ word in my vocabulary, that every time I say it, it doesn’t have the impact that it should have. The dictionary.com definition reads as follows: “restoration to life”. Churches have events called Revival in hopes of Christians experiencing faith in a way they never have before and to bring new followers to Christ.

My hope and prayer for our Revival is that no matter who you are, where you’re from, what degree you’re pursuing, where you work, what you do in your free time, that we would all come together as one body of Christ. That people would feel and receive the grace that God has for them. It doesn’t matter what you have done, a new life is waiting for you. One filled with love, acceptance, forgiveness (and forgiveness again), and a way in which we don’t have to carry the weight of our mistakes. My prayer is that in that moment where people are truly honest and vulnerable, they would only be met by Christ love through us.

Today I was overwhelmed with emotions of what it’s like to start seeing revival come together after planning and praying over it for so long (this was a result of our speaker for this year coming to visit for the day). The most difficult part of planning revival is there is no real measurement of success. We plan this event so that people are encouraged towards living a life pursuing faith; whether that be for the first time, or just a new depth for others. This is my second year serving, and I still don’t know how many people were changed because of last years event. It is difficult because you really don’t know if anyone really did have a life change or renewal. But, I truly believe that I have been called to this ministry. I believe that even though I haven’t heard a story, that someone’s life was changed.

The biggest thing I have learned through this whole experience, and still have to remind myself of daily, is that this is not my event. This is not UMHB’s event, it is not our committees event; it is fully 100% the Lord’s. I am constantly pausing in my work to remember this. It is easy to get caught up in the details; in worrying that nobody will show up, or that it will rain the week of, that maybe the logo isn’t flashy enough, and maybe that we didn’t pick the right verse. But in all reality, it is not we who bring the people. It is not us who saves people or changes lives–we are merely making a way for those things to happen. Being stewards to a God who has a plan. In the rest of my journey as Co-Director, I am resting in that fact that he has a plan for UMHB Revival 2015.

“I want them to be encouraged and knit together by strong ties of love. I want them to have complete confidence that they understand God’s mysterious plan, which is Christ himself.” Colossians 2:2

UMHB Revival 2015
Come As You Are
April 6-8th

This entry was posted in Faith, Revival, UMHB and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

